Alpha Kappa Alpha / Alpha Phi Alpha Annual Scholarship Reception

2017 Photos


Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority and Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity hold their Annual Scholarship Reception at the Hilton San Diego Mission Valley in June. Scholarships are awarded to more than 50 deserving students, making it an outstanding community celebration. Our Alpha continued academic excellence program (CAEP) students are feted during this celebration.

Many, many kudos to the mentors of Alpha for leading these young men in the CAEP program. We've menored several young men who are destined for greatness. Most inspiring is that Bro. Jason Allen and Thomas Van of our chapter are past partcipants of this program during their high school days.

Here is where some of our students are going to college:

Dominique Brewington (Morse) to Texas Southern; Bryant Davis (Lincoln) to Tuskegee with full scholarship; Sammie Ely (Lincoln) to Tuskegee; Zachary Lemusa (Morse) to Riverside Comm College; Kajay McClay (Lincoln) to Univ of Maryland-Eastern Shore; Eugene Marble III (Morse) to CSU-Chico; Patrick Mitchell (Morse) to Southwest Kansas State; Derius Ransom (Morse) to SDiego Mesa College; Kahalid Ransom (Morse) to SD Mesa College; Eric Shipley (Morse) to Southwest Kansas State; and Nicholas Thomas (Lincoln) to Clark-Atlanta University. Additionaly, Eric Shipley was also honored by the “Top Ladies of Distinction.”

Here are the students with Curtis Price and Jason Allen and another one with the students and most of the brothers that attended. They all look sharp in their black suits, white shirts and gold ties, do they not? They are our men of the future. Thank you Alpha men for leading them into a bright future.


Program Information

We welcome your attendance at this exciting celebration. In addition to your attendance, we want to recognize you as a patron in our Souvenir Program Booklet. You may choose from one of the categories below:



Category Amount
Platinum $150 - $200
Gold $100 - $149
Silver $50 - $99
Bronze $15 - $49

To insure that your name appears in the booklet, your donation must be received by June 2nd. Your tax deductible contribution can be made out to EXO Foundation. Please mail it to Dr. Gene P. Moore, 6821 Cibola Road, San Diego, CA 92120.

The primary mission of both Alpha Kappa Alpha and Alpha Phi Alpha is to recognize the accomplishment of our young scholars. The Scholarship Reception is one of many ways that we invite the participation of the community. Please know that your contribution will greatly help us continue to make scholarships available to future scholars.


Committee Members

Isaac Ford
J Lee Hill
William Gillespie
Clarence ""CJ" Wine Jr
Thomas Van
Brian Samuels


Alpha Phi Alpha
Zeta Sigma Lambda Chapter

P.O. Box 124841
San Diego, CA 92112-4841